CFAES Give Today
Office for Research and Graduate Education

College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences


Celebration of Research Week 2024 Recap

April 18, 2024

Thank You for Celebrating with R&GE!

On Friday, April 12 the 2024 Annual CFAES Celebration of Research Week came to a close. This year’s event consisted of the CFAES Research Forum Poster Competition, highlights of the STARS cohort on our social media platforms, and wrapped up with the CFAES Research Forum Awards Ceremony and Luncheon.

The Awards Ceremony was well-attended and saw the introduction of Connect and Celebrate: A Research Networking Reception. Following the networking event, attendees were among the first to see the premier of the 2024 CFAES Research Video. Next, the keynote speaker, Dr. Scott Shearer, captivated the room with a riveting presentation on AI Applications in Agriculture. From training datasets to autonomous tractors, Dr. Shearer shed some light on the changing landscape of agriculture.

Screengrab of the CFAES Research Video showing Dr. Kubota and another researcher in the greenhouse.CFAES Research Video

Watch the new CFAES Research Overview Video highlighting some of our faulty members and the important research that they're working on right now. 

Watch Now


Jera Elizondo Niewoehner-Green, PhD headshot next to a photo of her in grad school.CFAES STARS Highlights

For Celebration of Research Week, we asked our STARS cohort, "why did you get involved in research?" Check out all their responses.

Read More


After a break for lunch, Dr. Gary Pierzynski took the stage and gave his remarks on the CFAES Research Enterprise. The presentation highlighted some CFAES Research stats, major funded proposals from the past year, new initiatives like the Waterman Multispecies Animal Learning Center (MALC) and the Pelotonia Research Center – Carmenton.

The second half of the afternoon was dedicated to recognizing the winners of the Research Awards and the poster competition. We had a record number of poster participants, 117 total, presenting on the incredible research taking place in our college. We are excited to share the results with you!

CFAES Research Awards

Congratulations to the 2023-2024 CFAES Research Award recipients. 

Distinguished Junior Faculty Research Award – This award recognizes outstanding research contributions in the advancement of science and technologies relating to food, agriculture, family, communities, and/or the environment by faculty at the rank of Instructor, Assistant, or Associate Professor.

  • Dr. Christopher Simons, Associate Professor - Department of Food Science and Technology

Distinguished Senior Faculty Research Award - This award recognizes outstanding research contributions in the advancement of science and technologies relating to food, agriculture, family, communities, and/or the environment by faculty at the rank of Professor.

  • Dr. Mary Gardiner, Professor - Department of Entomology, OSU Extension

Distinguished Research Technical Staff Award - The Research Technical Staff Award is open to CFAES staff who are involved in the practice of research or in support of faculty who are performing research. This award does not focus on the quality of research itself but instead the quality of practice and/or support the staff member provides.

  • Nuris Acosta, Researcher 3 - Department of Entomology

William E. Krauss Director’s Award for Outstanding Publication by a Graduate Student – This award recognizes the best paper published by a current or recently graduated Ph.D. student.

  • Dr. Maria (Nelly) Arguello-Blanco, Research Associate and former Graduate Student - Department of Horticulture and Crop Science

Distinguished Graduate Student Mentor Award - This award is open at any rank: Assistant, Associate or Full Professor, but the nominee must have a history of successfully mentoring graduate students.

  • Dr. Gireesh Rajashekara, Professor - Department of Animal Sciences

View Awardees

Research Forum Poster Competition

Congratulations to the 2024 CFAES Research Forum Poster Competition winners. 

Undergraduate Competition

Category 1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place
Animal Sciences - Animal Health & Nutrition Melva Tacuri Vera Danielle Latif Molly Cordonnier
Entomology Addison Copen N/A N/A
Environmental and Plant Sciences & Other Category Francesca Pilutti Grant DeBruin Hannah Bernstein
Food Science Talia Katz Rachel Barrett Eric Armstrong
Social Sciences Nicole Pickard Ryanna Tietje Sheriden Schuerman


Graduate and Professional Competition


  1. Nicole Volk, ACEL, advised by Dr. Annie Specht
  2. Saroj Khatiwada, CFAH, advised by Dr. Scott Kenney
  3. Sandeep Dhakal, FABE, advised by Dr. Ajay Shah


  1. Courtney Anderson, SENR, advised by Dr. Stan Gehrt
  2. Kush Yadav, CFAH, advised by Dr. Scott Kenney
  3. Veeramani Karuppuchamy, FST, advised by Dr. Osvaldo Campanella


  1. Peiyang Li, FABE, advised by Dr. Lingying Zhao
  2. Sachin Naik, HCS, advised by Dr. Michelle Jones
  3. Srishti Gaur, FABE, advised by Dr. Darren Drewry


  1. Rachel Cole, FST, advised by Dr. Martha Belury
  2. Emanoella Otaviano, HCS, advised by Dr. Marilia Chiavegato
  3. Asmita Khanal, FABE, advised by Dr. Ajay Shah

People's Choice

  1. Kush Yadav, CFAH, advised by Dr. Scott Kenney
  2. Jenna Moore, Plant Path, advised by Dr. Horacio Lopez-Nicora

Learn More

Thanks Again!

We want to thank you all for your participation in the various events that took place throughout the course of the week. There was so much to celebrate over the past year, and we are looking forward to an even brighter year ahead!